Annual meeting

The business of the Lycoming County Historical Socitey is generally conducted by dedicated staff and the Board of Governors, out of sight of the membership. Every year the members have an opportunity to offer input into the Society's operations by election of officers and the Governors. The 2018 annual meeting occurred on April 22.

West Branch Four

This year, the members were also treated to special musical guests, the West Branch Four, a barbershop quartet, with selections of barbershop music.

Director Gary Parks provided an update on the Museum operations.

The business meeting was conducted by President Charles Lupert. Board of Governor members Eiderson Dean, Larry Fryda, Bruce Huffman, Penny Lutz, Ed Metzger, and Marc Pompeo were re-elected to 2 year terms. New members Lisa DeVito, John Raymond and Austin White were elected to 2 year terms.

Chuck Luppert

Officers were elected: Charles Luppert was re-elected for a third term as President; Gary Weber was elected Vice-President; Sue Beidler was re-elected as Secretary and Randy DiPalo was re-elected as Treasurer.

Jim Carn recognized

Jim Carn was recognized for his service, as he leaves the Board of Governors.

The LCHS 2018-19 budget was reviewed, and upcoming financial challenges were discussed by Treasurer Randy DiPalo. The budget passed.

GAry Parks

The 2018 volunteer of the year was recognized. This year, the Board feted John Raymond, a former and now newly elected Board member. While on the Board and since leaving the Board, John has worked tirelessly on many fundraising activities of the Society.

Williamsport High School senior, Juliet Jacques was named winner of the 2018 Richard L. and Miriam L (Swan) Mix Student Historian Award. She received a $500 scholarship.

Members attending the event were treated to desserts and beverages, as they listened to the music and participated in the meeting.