SOLD OUT- Taber Museum Field Trip to Tour the Stone Church and Eagle Grange
**Due to an overwhelming response to the field trip to the Grange and the Stone Church; we can no longer accept any more reservations. However we are still able to accommodate a few more for the Stone Church tour only, the Eagle Grange is booked to capacity. If interested in attending the Stone Church tour only, the cost would be $2.50 per person.**
On Saturday, September 6, 2014, beginning at 2:00 pm, the Thomas T. Taber Museum of the Lycoming County Historical Society will be hosting a field trip to the Stone Church in Allenwood and the Eagle Grange #1 in Montgomery. Participants will have the rare opportunity to view these two sites, which are not frequently open to the public. Participants are asked to furnish their own transportation and must be pre-registered.
Convening at the Stone Church, at 2 pm, we will be met by Steve and Martha Huddy. The Stone Church is the location in which the War Department held two meetings in 1942 to plan the construction of a TNT production plant. Once the plans were finalized, the government ordered all the residents of Alvira to leave their combined 850 acres of land. The families were promised that the land would be returned to them when the war was over. However the production of TNT contaminated the land, making it impossible for the families crops on it anymore. This fascinating story has been told by researchers Martha and Stephen Huddy in their documentary Surrender!: The Sudden Death of Alvira, Pennsylvania. The Huddys will be present that afternoon to provide background on Alvira and the Stone Church. An opportunity will also be available to explore the accompanying cemetery.
Caravaning, we will then meet at the Eagle Grange at approximately 3:30pm. It was founded by Luke Eger. Established in 1871, the Eagle Grange is the oldest grange in Pennsylvania, predating the establishment of the state organization by two years. We will be met by Elizabeth Downey, who presented a lecture on this topic at the Lycoming County Historical Society last year. The Eagle Grange building was finished in 1887.
To defray the costs, we are asking for a $5.00 donation per person. Check or money order please. Mail to the Lycoming County Historical Society. 858 W 4th St, Williamsport, PA 17701.
Telephone or email:
I have enclosed $_______ for _______ reservations.
For further information, please call at 570.326.3326.
Directions to Stone Church: Taking Route 15 from Williamsport, head South. Travel eight miles and turn right onto Allenwood Camp Lane (by the White Deer Golf Course Entrance) . Proceed through the gates of the Allenwood Prison Camp and follow the signs directly to the Stone Church.
Directions to Eagle Grange: Retracing your steps to Route 15 by following the Allenwood Camp Lane. Turn left (North) and travel 0.5 miles. Turn right on East Blind Road (the first right). The Grange is at the corner of Route 15 and East Blind Road.